S.H. Figuarts Super Mario World Mario

2000px-Super_Mario_World_game_logo.svg

About 8 months ago I sat down, in a room with a camera and attempted to record a review for Tamashii Nations, S.H. Figuarts Mario from Super Mario World.  As I sat amazed at how awesome I would be on YouTube and how my video would make thousands of views, I realized I couldn’t quite get my points across, because I was…….well, nervous.

As a part of revamping my Ryndur’d Reviews site, as well as continuing to grow our new home, Club-Otaku I am going over some of the old reviews and filling in the gaps as only I can!  Now, sit back and imagine your best Christopher Walken impression and enjoy the review.

11154977_352497231607254_3433043810032153400_oIn the ever so cold months of May-ish in the northern state of Texas, I was a young boy who found himself in a Barns and Nobles.  While there, I spotted a familiar face,  it’s not hard to recognize the face as I have seen it through out my days of turtle jumping, and non – princess rescuing  for 8 worlds.  You guessed it,  Luigi.  No wait, I mean Mario.  Tamashii Nations had taken our favorite pasta pounding, turtle tumbler addicted to shrooms and put him in a much more favorable figure form.  I am looking at you Nintendo.  -.-;

The box for the figure is bright and yellow,  the logo for Super Mario World is printed and Mario’s name is written in Japanese.  I picked up the figure and took it home so I could do a video review on how awesome it is!

Awesome may have been a stretch in some regards.  So, the figure comes with the following;

  • Mario – ofcourse
  • A Coin – nicely done in gold chrome.
  • A Stand for the Coin
  • A ? box
  • a Mushroom

That’s it.  Mario is short, roughly 4 and a half inches, maybe smaller.  He’s a hefty figure, don’t get me wrong.  I am ok with the idea that he’s short, it’s not like he was a tall person to begin with.   I will say this, the best thing going for the figure is that it’s sculpted really well.  I felt that if they didn’t get anything else right, then at least I have a decent Mario figure.

Now that said,  it is exactly what I got, a decent Mario figure.  I am not saying that because I don’t like it.  I am saying that because, of all the Tamashii figures I have bought, I felt that it didn’t quite meet up to the expectations I have always had.  Let me sum up with my cons;

  • no additional hands or faces/heads
  • limited movement/articulation
  • As a stand-alone figure, not much in the way of play-ability.
  • You have to purchase the diorama or additional characters to get the potential of this figure, or any of the Mario Figures.

That’s it,  sure it’s a good figure.  But even with the items you receive, you can’t DO much with it. You are dependent on getting the diorama sets to help fill out this character and bring out it’s potential.

11155061_352500661606911_119592652367044677_oGiven the 32 dollar price tag on the item, I would have like more to come with the figure that is usable; a stand, hands, something.  As it was, when I bought this figure, I set it aside and left it alone till I shelled out the bucks for the diorama sets.  After which, it became more fun to have at or around my desk.

11077332_352500434940267_1887544832300791070_oWith some of the diorama sets, you get an extra set of hands, and from there you can hold a turtle shell.  Which is nice!  Now,  the hands pop off pegs,  and the only type of hands you get are opened hands, that have a port in them so you can use a plastic stand to set up holding the turtle shell.  It takes a bit of getting used to to make it feel right.  Other then that,  now we are talking,  now I am playing with this figure and getting some enjoyment out of it.  Until I realized I had to buy another diorama set.

I don’t say that to be negative,  I say that because I need to build out the set.  Get some action going!  Yeah, make my own Mario World!  I have become as addicted to these things as Mario to his shrooms. I needed help.

11141736_352499711607006_6036421756835424895_o So I bought another set.    I am so ashamed.   But, hey I have my own Mario World.

Overall thoughts on this is that yes, it’s a good figure.  It is considered an entry level figure for Figuarts standards, in my opinion.  The problem is, it’s also a gateway figure.  You will want to purchase other figures, or sets to get the maximum amount of enjoyment from it.

With that, I have made my last drug reference and I tidy up this review with the following.  I would look for this figure at the cheapest possible price point.  Honestly, I feel that 32 dollars is a bit much, considering you have to purchase sets that can cost as much as that to play with it or to display it.  If you can find the figure in a cheap bundle on Ebay or Amazon, go for it.  If not.  It may not be the best time to get the figure just yet.

Leave a Reply

