S.H. Figuarts Sailor Mercury Review

Sailor-Moon-20th-Anniversary-Logo-English-Featured-Image

“Known to her comrades as Sailor Mercury, she is the Soldier of Water and Intelligence, the Soldier of Wisdom, the Soldier of Justice and Wisdom, and Soldier of Love and Exams…….wait, what? Exams?!

Ami Mizuno, the first soldier to be identified by Sailor Moon and the second to join in the fight against evil. Ami fights as Sailor Mercury. She assists her team with her brains and personal super computer to provide the best tactics and battle factors, to formulate information needed to defeat the enemy! “

In May of 2015, as I was starting up Ryndur’d Reviews, I sat down and started taking pictures of my newly acquired S.H. Figuarts Sailor Mercury.  up till this point I have had several S.H. Figuarts figures, but those were mostly Kamen Rider or Super Sentai figures.  When I picked up Mercury, I had also picked up Venus at the same time.

I haven’t had a chance to do a video review of Mercury, and when I initially did the gallery, I didn’t put much into it other then the pictures.  I am hoping to rectify that now.

Sailor Mercury has to be one of my favorite Sailor Senshi, next to Saturn and Pluto.   I am not sure why I was drawn to her character, but I have always liked the design.  It was a no-brainer for me to pick her up when I stumbled on her at a Barnes and Noble bookstore.

The design of the figure is more like the original anime series, I was a little thrown off at first by that, I figured with Crystal just coming out, they would have tried to model the figures after the new series.  But as an old school fan of the show, I realized quickly I am glad they didn’t do that.

As accessories go, this figure came with a quite a few!  I was very pleased, unlike my previous purchase of Mario, that this figure even came with a stand.  Even some of my Super Sentai and Kamen Rider figures didn’t get that kind of love.

The stand is tailored to Sailer Mercury, with her symbol and a heart shape to it.  It’s little details like this that really make this figure pop!  Outside of the figure, she does come with the following;

  • 3 additional faces (4 total) – smiling, open mouth smile, frowning and calling out attack face
  • She comes with her computer- 2 versions 1 opened and the other closed
  • 5 sets of hands and 1 additional hand for holding her computer.
    • Karate chop hands
    • Fists for punching and delivering justice!
    • Jazz hands
    • Hand to hold the closed computer
    • Hand to hold the open computer
    • Typing hand
    • Flat hands for pose of justice!
  • Bangs with the computer  visor

11206684_358890137634630_337643277965463763_oAll in all these are perfect accessories,  you can use the visor with any face, the eyes show through pretty nicely.  There isn’t much of a distortion with the clear plastic.

The obvious pro, for most S.H. Figuarts figures is the articulation.  You have a wide variety of joints, including swivels to help pose this figure in the most dynamic poses possible.   The addition of the stand help to ensure that when you pose Sailor Mercury, the maximum amount of justice can be serv-ed. ( Sorry, had been watching Johnny Test).

11169750_358890067634637_2062846243593808429_oThe one con, if I had to find one on this figure, would definitely be in the shoulders.  I would probably say this about all the Sailor Senshi figures, after looking at a majority of them.  The shoulder is a ball and socket joint, which does great in providing swivel, but depending on manufacturing, it doesn’t provide a deep socket for the ball joint to sit, and you can easily pop the arm off the joint.

Overall I have had no real trouble posing and displaying this figure.  I really do love it.  I would like this figure even if I didn’t have the rest of the team to keep her company on my desk.  I would recommend this figure to anyone who has a chance to pick her up, especially if you are a Sailor Moon Fan.

2 comments

  1. elissalynch · January 8, 2016

    I like your review style, Otaku. Very authentic :). Would love to feature your reviews in our weekly curated email digest that goes out to thousands of people.

    Like

    • Otaku Figure Blog · January 8, 2016

      Thank you very much, Elissalynch. I really love writhing up these reviews. I would love to talk with you about how to contribute to your email.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

